A Reader’s Digest Account of Autumn

Such a shame that I’ve already become abominably unreliable about posting regular entries here. I promise to be better in the future! This fall has been chock full of all sorts of exciting adventures and experiences. Instead of writing a lengthy post about each occurrence, I’ll give you a brief recap of the past few months.

In late September a few friends and I went apple picking (a quintessential New England activity) in a small town west of Boston.

My roommate and I made an impetuous trip to Salem, MA on a crisp, sunny, Saturday in October.

Also in October, a few friends and I journeyed to New Hampshire where we summited Mt. Monadnock with our university’s Geology Club.

On October 27 it SNOWED! My first experience with October snow was absolutely delightful. The white stuff didn’t stick around for long, but it was joyous while it lasted. (Apologies for poor photo quality)

Halloween (my least favorite holiday of the year) brought more snow (!) and an opportunity to devise a witty costume. My friends and I went as Ctrl, Alt, Del, the classic keyboard command.

Here’s a continued list of fall activities that are unfortunately unaccompanied by photos:

  • I visited the Boston Museum of Science, where I rode a Segway for the first time (what an exciting and simultaneously terrifying five minutes).
  • I rode the T for the first time since 2000! Boston’s public transportation certainly leaves something to be desired, but it has its charm.
  • I consumed my first cannoli at the famous Mike’s Pastry in the North End. So decadent, so delicious.
  • I attended a professional performance of Candide (for free, I might add)
  • I watched the Boston Symphony Orchestra perform (also for free) an all-Brahms program and marveled at the ornate beauty of Symphony Hall.
  • I visited the New England Aquarium, where I coveted a countless number of adorable penguins and timidly touched a stingray (so slimy…)
  • I got conjunctivitis (in layman’s terms: pink eye) for the first time! A nasty cold also took up residence in my body roundabouts the same time. Being sick at college is terribly undesirable, although the nurses in the infirmary are quite friendly.
Leave a Reply

