So that not one little piece of living is ever lost

I have an irrational fear that I will forget everything that has ever happened to me. I am terrified of losing memories and experiences and want desperately to preserve every taste, sight, sound, sensation, and thought. As a child I kept a thorough journal that documented even the most mundane aspects of my life, but with every passing year the entries became more sporadic and hastily written. In the spirit of being a mental pack-rat, I’ve decided to create this blog in hopes that it will serve as an archive of my mind and of my life – a way to eternally hold on to every little piece of living.

“Dear God, let me be something every minute of every hour of my life. Let me be gay; let me be sad. Let me be cold; let me be warm. Let me be hungry…have too much to eat. Let me be ragged or well dressed. Let me be sincere – be deceitful. Let me be truthful; let me be a liar. Let me be honorable and let me sin. Only let me be something every blessed minute. And when I sleep, let me dream all the time so that not one little piece of living is ever lost.” – Betty Smith, A Tree Grows In Brooklyn

Leave a Reply

